Sunday, July 29, 2012

Caguioa named PBA Most Valuable Player

Long overdue? Brgy. Ginebra's Caguiao won the 2011-12 MVP Award. PHOTO: Inquirer Sports

Barangay Ginebra's Mark "The Spark" Caguiao was named PBA's Most Valuable Player (MVP) for its 2011-2012 Season, besting out Powerade's Gary David, B-MEG's James Yap, and Petron's Arwind Santos.

Caguiao also won two Best Player of the Conference (BPC) awards for this season. He averaged 16.3 points, 4.8 rebounds, and 2.3 assists in 41 games for his team.

The MVP award has eluded Caguiao for the past 11 years. In 2001, he won the Rookie of the Year award but never won an MVP until now.

Caguiao on his speech thanked Ginebra fans for their support. "Sa inyong sigawan, tilian, at palakpakan, doon ako kumukuha ng inspirasyon," he said.

Meanwhile, Rain or Shine's Paul Lee bested Powerade's JVee Casio for the Rookie of the Year award. Casio however won the Sportsmanship Award.

Another Powerade player Jeff Chan was awarded the Most Improved Player.

First Mythical Team:

Mark Caguioa
Gary David
James Yap
Arwind Santos
Ranidel De Ocampo

Second Mythical Team:

Paul Lee
Jeff Chan
Kelly Williams
Jayson Castro
Sonny Thoss

All-Defensive team:

Marc Pingris
Doug Kramer
Arwind Santos
Jireh Ibanes
Ryan Reyes

Facebook Comments

blog comments powered by Disqus