Thursday, April 11, 2013

Pacquiao named best Filipino fighter ever

Eight-division boxing champion Manny Pacquiao was named the best Filipino fighter in history in an article from ESPN.

Writer Nigel Collins discussed the long love affair of Filipinos with boxing, and listed down the Top 10 Pinoy fighters from the past and present time.

Collins said Pacquiao is "once-in-a-lifetime phenomenon" of all the decorated greats in Philippine boxing history.

"Speed, crippling punching power and overpowering attack have made him an eight-division titleholder," the writer described Pacquiao.

Collins also said "The Filipino Flash" Nonito Donaire, who was placed fourth in the list, will find it hard to follow Pacquiao's footsteps.

Top 10 Filipino Fighters
Nigel Collins, ESPN

1. Manny Pacquiao (54-5-2, 38 KOs) Speed, crippling punching power and overpowering attack have made him an eight-division titleholder.

2. Gabriel "Flash" Elorde (89-27-2, 33 KOs) Fast, aggressive junior lightweight titlist (1960-67) was beloved for humble demeanor and fierce fighting spirit.

3. Pancho Villa (79-5-4, 25 KOs, 20 no-decisions) Whirlwind puncher became first Filipino world champion. Like Elorde, a Hall of Famer.

4. Nonito Donaire (31-1, 20 KOs) Fast, skillful boxer with murderous punch. Must beat Guillermo Rigondeaux on Saturday to retain current position.

5. Ceferino Garcia (119-30-14, 74 KOs) Won middleweight championship in 1939 and held legendary Henry Armstrong to a draw in first defense. Credited with inventing bolo punch.

6. Luisito Espinosa (47-13, 26 KOs) Crisp-punching craftsman held two titles in 1980s and '90s. Respected for toughness, versatility and adaptability.

7. Gerry Penalosa (55-8-2, 37 KOs) Savvy movement, precision punching and granite jaw made him a two-division titlist in 1990s and early 2000s.

8. Little Dado (72-6-1, 33 KOs, 2 no-decisions) Popular flyweight in 1930s and early '40s won several versions of title but never universal recognition.

9. Small Montana (81-23-10, 11 KOs) Crowd-pleasing globetrotter recognized as flyweight champ by powerful New York State Athletic Commission in 1935.

10. Erbito Salavarria (39-11-3, 11 KOs) Quick-footed sharpshooter twice held flyweight title in 1970s.

[Photo: Isaac Brekken/AP]

Facebook Comments

blog comments powered by Disqus