Saturday, May 18, 2013

Tenorio-Abueva, Dozier-Macklin headline Commissioner's Cup Awardees

What can be more fitting for the PBA Commissioner's Cup Awardees than to have the Best Local Players and Best Imports competing for the Best Player of the Conference and the Bobby Parks Best Import Award.
LA Tenorio of the Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings finished with the highest statistical point total of 480 points, Calvin Abueva finished with an SP average of 28.5 points riding on the 150 points game winning bonus from his team who finished on top of the standings during the eliminations.
The rest of the candidates for the Best Player of the Conference awards are: GlobalPort’s Gary David came in third with 26.0 an outing,  another Alaska player Jayvee Casio (25.4) and Philippine Cup BPC winner Jayson Castro of the Talk and Text Tropang Texters (25.2).
The Bobby Parks Best Import Award could only be won by Robert Dozier of the Alaska Aces and Vernon Macklin of Ginebra. Eric Dawson of the Meralco Bolts finished on top of the Best Import SPs at 53.9
If Tenorio is to win the BPC award, he will add it to his other titles: 2010 Most Improved Player award, 2010 Mythical First Team citation, 2010 Fiesta Conference Finals co-MVP honors and the 2010 Williams Jones Cup MVP trophy.
Abueva meanwhile will follow Eric Menk and Danny Seigle to be the rookie to win BPC honors.
Eric won the award in the Philippine Cup while Danny won the award in the Governors Cup, Danny went on to win the Rookie of the Year award at the end of the season.
The Tenorio-Abueva & Dozier-Macklin award showdown is just a part of tomorrow's Game 3 event: Will Alaska go for the sweep or will the never-say-die attitude of Ginebra prevail to fight another game.
Photo Credit: Nuki Sabio/PBA []

Facebook Comments

blog comments powered by Disqus